Governance & Management

In line with it’s Constitution, Swimming Waikato is governed by a Board of six Directors, all of whom bring a range of essential skills to the Board table –

Susan Barriball
Aly Fitch
Gavin Ion
Sean Lewis – Chairperson
Julie Richards – Finance
Craig Thomas

Swimming Waikato’s day to day operations are managed by Cherie McCleery who has held the Executive Officer role since July 2014.

Other members of the Swimming Waikato team include –

Darren Ward – Regional Hub Coach
Natasha Budd – Events and Administrative Support
Rachael Thomas – Event Recorder

Swimming Waikato works closely with their volunteer Panels who provide expertise in the following areas –

  • Technical
  • Selectors
  • Awards
  • Commercial

Use the tabs down the right hand side of this page to find out more about these people.


We’d also like to acknowledge our Life Members who have given back to the sport of swimming for many many years –

Mrs MR Jonson; Mr JJ Cole; Mr TD Stanley; Mrs J Stanley (Patron); Mr N Jonson; Mrs J Leat;
Mrs D Davidson; Barry Kidd; Mrs Shona Hutt; Mrs Kate Thorn; Mrs L Agnew; Mr R Strange; Mr T Rogers