Our Officials are a key part of our swimming community.  Without Officials, swimming simply wouldn’t exist – and in the Waikato, we’re lucky to have some of New Zealand’s best.   They call themselves a ‘family’ and they give up literally hours of their time each year to support the delivery of swim meets throughout the Waikato.  Many of our officials’ children have long since left the sport, but they continue to take leave from their jobs and give up their weekends to help us deliver swimming events, understanding the importance of the role they play and enjoying giving back to the communities where they live.


Our group of Officials are led by our Technical Panel who have been qualified Officials for many years and are hugely experienced with all things swimming.  The Panel is chaired by Linda Bulman who is a great point of contact for any member of our swimming community who is is interested in supporting the delivery of swimming and becoming one of our family of technical officials.   You can find out more about becoming a Swimming Waikato Technical Official here.

The Technical Panel has officials assigned to each club.  They are the ‘go to’ person if you have any queries about the technical rules of swimming, or if your club has been allocated a meet to run (see the Swimming Waikato Calendar).

Gavin Ion – Cambridge, St Peters

Russell Strange – Tokoroa, Matamata, Morrinsville, ACE, Te Aroha

Liz Angew –  Fairfield

Linda Bulman – Huntly, St Paul’s

Wendy Smith – Hillcrest, Putaruru

Jan Missen – Coromandel, Mercury Bay, Paeroa, Thames, Waihi, Whangamata

Stu Woods – Marlin, Otorohanga, Swim Waipa, Te Kuiti, Piopio


You will have seen them on pool deck and we’d like to take this opportunity to acknowledge and thank them for the role they play in delivering swimming.

Ace Swimming Club
Jean Baker
Keith Baker
Edward Hardie
David Musto
Pearl Parsons
Steven Parsons
Wendy Smith
Russell Strange
Katrina Taylor
Cary Terelmes
Peggy White
Stuart Woods

Fairfield Swimming Club
Liz Agnew
Linda Bulman
Gavin Ion
Brent Kennedy
Rachel Kennedy
Sean Lewis
Jan Missen
Grant Sirl

Hillcrest Swimming Club
Niall Broekhuizen
Kieran McCarthy
Whakarongo Tauranga

Huntly Swimming Club
Andrew Bruning
Michael Cresswell
Nigel Roberts

Matamata Swimming Club
Nigel Rogers
Jason Roberts
Yvonne Voss

St Paul’s Swimming Club
Rachel Board
Jenny Jago

St Peter’s Swimming Club
Mike Elliott
Alison Fitch
Lynelle Flynn
Alan Hunt
Georgina Kervin
Ruth Ouwehand
George Prescott
Kazuko Tapper
Karen Walworth

Swim Waipa #tasc
Buster Askew
Wendy Dickson
Graeme Parkes
Glen Ward

Thames Swimming Club
Susan Barriball


For your information – we’ve included some links to information from the Swimming New Zealand website.

Technical Officials information

Information about Qualifications and Assessments

The Swimming NZ Guide for Technical Officials

Standard forms used when hosting Swim Meets 

The Meet Approval Process

FINA rules and regulations 2013-2017

FINA Video Resources 


Other useful information is included below.